Qualified: Classic Physique Olympia 2022

The Classic Physique division, although being one of the newest divisions in bodybuilding, is fast growing to be one of the most popular around. This division kicked off in 2016, and the goal was mirror bodies that were reminiscent of what was in vogue in the Golden Era of bodybuilding, between the 1960s to the 1980s.

 One thing that stands out about the Classic Physique competition is the fact that there is a weight limitation set. This weight limitation is aimed at ensuring that the bodybuilders competing here are not overly muscular. The competition tends to uphold artistic expression in terms of pose rather than braggadocio.

 This year’s Mr Olympia is scheduled to hold between December 15th – December 18th and here are the qualified contenders under the Classic Physique category:

  •       Brady Barnes (USA)
  •       Darren Farrell (Ireland)
  •       Terrence Ruffin (USA)
  •       Georgian Andrei Birica Anghel (Romania)
  •       Robert Wichman (USA)
  •       Michael Daboul (Syria)
  •       Chris Bumstead (Canada)
  •       Breon Ansley (USA)
  •       Peter Molnar (Hungary)
  •       Alex Cambronero (Costa Rica)
  •       Mike Sommerfeld (Germany)
  •       Jorge Herrera (USA)
  •       Jose Maria Mete Bueriberi (Spain)
  •       Ruben Lopez Reyes (Spain)
  •       Mehdi Larijani (USA)
  •       Lenny Wicks (USA)
  •       Ahmed El Halawani (Egypt)
  •       Logan Franklin (USA)
  •       Ramon Rocha Querioz (Brazil)
  •       Anthony Casado (Canada)
  •       Kyrylo Khudaiev (USA)
  •       Mateo Vaihu (New Zealand)
  •       Mohamed Amine Fakhfakh (Tunisia)
  •       Urs Kalecinski (Germany)
  •       Junior Javorski (Brazil)
  •       Tony Duong (USA)
  •       Vahid Badpei (Iran)
  •       Darwin Andres Uribe Aristizabal (Colombia)
  •       Lamar Shaw (USA)
  •       Alexander Westermeier (Germany)
  •       Carlos Dommar (USA
  •       Neil Currey (UK)
  •       Camilo Diaz (USA)

Past Winners of the Classic Physique Olympia

Having looked at the list of contenders for this year’s Classic Physique Olympia, let’s take a look down memory lane at the past winners.

Danny Hester (2016)

The 47-year-old old-time model would enter this debut competition which was held at the Orleans Arena in Las Vegas to become the first Classic Physique Olympia winner. That year, Arash Rahbar would finish closely behind as runner-up while Sadik Hadzovic ended up coming a close third.

Breon Hesley (2017 – 2018)

 By 2017, Hester’s reign as the Classic Physique Olympia champion would be cut short as the 4th-placed contender in the debut year, and Breon Ansley would come from behind to clinch the title. Chris Bumstead, who came a close second, would shock everyone with his outstanding performance, while George Peterson finished third. In an interesting turn of events, Breon Hesley would go on to maintain being champion even in the next year.

Chris Bumstead (2019 – 2021)

Chris Bumstead kicked off 2019 by seizing the Classic Physique Olympia title from Hesley who had a two-year run with it and would go on to win for the next three years. He’s the current champion and would be looking to maintain his spot in this year’s event.

Leave a Comment